The California Highway Patrol reported Sunday morning that statewide, at least 18-people have been killed in collisions this holiday weekend. In half of those crashes, those who died were not wearing a seat belt.
CHP also reported there have been 741 DUI arrests by the CHP in the first 30-hours of the Memorial Day weekend.
Law enforcement throughout California will be looking for drivers and passengers who don’t buckle up during the “Click It or Ticket” seat belt campaign. They will be on the lookout for drivers and passengers – including passengers in the back seat, day and night.
“Click It or Ticket” debuted in California in 2005, and since then the state’s seat belt use rate has increased from 92.5 percent in 2005 to a record high of 97.4 percent in 2014, representing over 1.5 million more vehicle occupants who have started buckling up.
The minimum ticket cost of an adult seat belt violation in California is $162 and up, and a minimum of $465 for not properly restraining a child under 16. If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket