Wagner, Newton, Myers Win Antioch Speedway Features

By Don Martin II

"Captain Chaos" Danny Wagner #11 won his first All Star Series A Modified Main Event. Photo by Paul Gould Photography

Antioch, CA — Danny Wagner won the 20 lap All Star Series A Modified Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. Wagner picked up a very impressive first career win at Placerville and pocketed $1,500 that night in the process. He’s in a championship battle with point leader Buddy Kniss at Antioch and needed a good finish after his bad luck at the previous race.

Terry Kaiser made his first Antioch appearance of the season and led the opening laps of the A Modified feature ahead of Wagner and B Modified star Fred Ryland. Wagner was challenging Kaiser hard and actually made a pass for the lead on lap six, only to have a yellow flag for Frank Furtado negate the pass. Kaiser led the pack to the green flag, but Wagner again made a move around the outside to take the lead on lap seven. Ryland and Buddy Kniss were quickly into second and third. However, Wagner stretched his advantage to nearly a straightaway at the checkered flag. Ryland finished second ahead of Kniss and Brent Curran in a close battle. Brian Pearce completed the Top 5 at the finish.

Shannon Newton #2n rolled to his fourth Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event victory. Photo by Paul Gould Photography

Shannon Newton rolled to his fourth straight 20 lap Wingless Spec Sprint Main Event victory. Newton has proven to be unbeatable so far this year in the Richard Basden owned entry. After missing all of last season due to a serious leg injury suffered at work, two time division champion Dan Gonderman was back and set the early pace with Newton quickly into second. The lead duo pulled away from the pack and was soon in slower traffic. It was traffic that proved Gonderman’s undoing as a slower car ran in the high groove that he was using. When they exited Turn 2 of the sixth lap, Newton ducked underneath the slower car and Gonderman and had the lead. Newton stretched his advantage during the final half of the race as he won ahead of Gonderman, Roy Fisher, Alan Miranda and Cameron Martin.

“Bad” Brad Myers #33 won his first Hobby Stock feature of the season. Photo by Paul Gould Photography

After back-to-back second place finishes, Brad Myers scored his first 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event win of the season. Myers started in the second row and ran behind a good battle between James Thomson, Trevor Clymens and Josh Leach in the early goings. Thomson had his car hooked up well on the outside, and though he lost the lead briefly to Leach with an inside pass on lap seven, he moved back around Leach in Turn 2 to regain the lead on lap eight. Myers was in third when the only yellow flag flew on lap nine. On the restart, Myers made a strong outside move and had the lead by the time they exited Turn 2. Thomson held second ahead of Beanna Troen and point leader Chris Sorensen. Second place was the battle as Myers pulled away just a bit, but Sorensen managed to pass both Thomson and Troen by lap 16. By the time the white flag waved, Sorensen had caught Myers in traffic. However, Myers made an outside move around the slower cars and brought it home to a satisfying victory. Sorensen settled for second, followed by Thomson, Troen and Philip Oreta.

Kimo Oreta won the 20 lap Limited Late Model Main Event. Chad Hammer returned to action and led early with Oreta right behind him. On lap seven, Hammer got just a bit sideways exiting Turn 4 as Oreta was attempting a move on the inside. There was contact, and Hammer ended up hitting the wall. Hammer was out of the race, and Oreta led Jim Freethy on the restart. Oreta went pretty much unchallenged the rest of the way to win ahead of Freethy, Michael Burch, John Evans and Jimmy Robbins.

Next week, the B Modifieds and DIRTcar Late Models return to the All Star Series line-up along with the Dwarf Cars and Hobby Stocks. For further information, go to www.antiochspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results All Star Series Antioch Speedway

A Modifieds
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Fred Ryland, Terry Kaiser. Main Event (20 Laps)-Danny Wagner, Fred Ryland, Buddy Kniss, Brent Curran, Brian Pearce, Chester Kniss, Terry Kaiser, Justin Yeager, Frank Furtado, Jake Dewsburuy.

Wingless Spec Sprints
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Dan Gonderman, Shannon Newton. Main Event (20 Laps)-Shannon Newton, Dan Gonderman, Roy Fisher, Alan Miranda, Cameron Martin, Rick Panfili, Troy Ferry, Jeff Scotto, Mackenzie Newton, Adam Teves DNS.

Hobby Stocks
Heat Winners (6 Laps)-Brad Meyers, Chris Sorensen. Main Event (20 Laps)-Brad Myers, Chris Sorensen, James Thompson, Brianna Troen, Philip Oreta, Ken Johns, Jeff Betancourt, Will Buirch, Josh Leach, Trevor Clemens.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winner (6 Laps)-Kimo Oreta. Main Event (20 Laps)-Kimo Oreta, Jim Freethy, Michael Burch, John Evans, Jimmy Robbins, Chad Hammer.