Voting Begins in Contra Costa County For June 2018 Primary Election


Voting began this week for the June 2018 Statewide Direct Primary Election as the Contra Costa Elections Division mailed nearly 400,000 ballots to registered voters.

The ballot includes all countywide offices including the District Attorney and Superintendent of Schools, a Bay Area-wide transportation measure, Regional Measure 3, the primary for California Governor and other state offices, state Assembly and U.S. Senate.

Ballots were mailed to those voters who previously requested a vote-by-mail ballot and to those living in precincts designated as mail ballot only, said Joe Canciamilla, County Registrar of Voters. Vote-by-mail voters account for nearly 65 percent of the county’s 597,227 voters.

Ballots may be returned via US mail, dropped off at the Elections Office located at 555 Escobar Street in Martinez, or dropped off at designated drop boxes located throughout the county, starting on May 14th. A complete list of drop-off locations is available at

“We encourage voters to vote and return their vote-by-mail ballots as early as possible,” Canciamilla said. Registered voters who expect a vote-by-mail ballot and have not received it by May 21st should call the Elections Office at (925) 335-7800 to request a replacement ballot.

Any voter who wishes to become a permanent vote-by-mail voter for future elections can return a completed vote-by-mail application, found on the back of their Voter Information Guide. They can also call the Elections Office at (925) 335-7800, or visit our website at

Early Voting: Those without a vote-by-mail or absentee ballot can vote in-person from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm at the Elections Office, starting May 7th. Seven additional Regional Early Voting locations will be available around the county from May 29th through June 2nd.

Key upcoming dates:

  • May 21: Last day to register to vote for the upcoming election.
  • May 29: The last day to request a vote-by-mail ballot.
  • June 5: Election Day. Polls open at 7:00 am and close at 8:00 pm.


Comments are closed.