Update: June Election Candidates Continue to Pull Papers, Get Qualified


The June 5, 2018 Primary Election is in full swing as it becomes clear who has pulled papers and who has qualified as a candidate.

According to an update from Contra Costa there are 27 qualified candidates running for the Governors seat as of Tuesday afternoon. While 30 candidates are set to run for Diane Feinstein’s seat.

It appeared as if both Supervisors John Gioia and Karen Mitchoff for the second consecutive election would run unopposed. However, Mitchoff now faces a challenger in Harmesh Kumar who had previously been running for California Governor. Walnut Creek Councilman Justin Wedel pulled papers, but opted not to file.

The Assembly District 16 race will come down to Catherine Baker versus Rebecca Bauer-Kahan after Tom Tarantino decided to drop out of the race on March 9 — he has put his support behind Bauer-Kahan.


Meanwhile in the Assembly District 15 race, there is a total of 10 candidates aiming to fill a seat held by Tony Thurmand. Thurman is now running for State Superintendent of Public Instruction. In the money race, Buffy Wicks has a sizable lead having raised more than $500,000.

Meanwhile, Contra Costa County Sheriff-Coroner David Livingston will likely run unopposed.

As of March 13, here is a look at who has pulled papers and filed in local races and have qualified as a candidate. A final update should be available by Thursday morning.

Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools

  • Lynn Mackey – qualified
  • Ron Leone – qualified
  • Cheryl Hansen
  • Linda Sue Delehunt


Contra Costa County Supervisor, District 1

  • John Gioia – qualified


Contra Costa County Supervisor, District 4

  • Karen Mitchoff – qualified
  • Justin Wedel
  • Harmesh Kumar – qualified


Contra Costa County Assessor

  • Gus Kramer – qualified
  • Geoffrey William Steele


Contra Costa County Auditor-Controller

  • Robert Campbell – qualified
  • Ayore Riaundayore Riaunda – qualified


Contra Costa County Clerk-Recorder

  • Joe Canciamilla – qualified
  • Nathan Scott Smith


Contra Costa County District Attorney-Public Administrator

  • Diana Becton – qualified
  • Lawrence Steven Strauss – qualified
  • Victor Segovia
  • Paul Graves – qualified


Contra Costa County Sheriff-Coroner

  • David Livingston – qualified


Contra Costa County Treasurer-Tax Collector

  • Russell Watts – qualified


State & Congressional

Congressional District 9:

  • Jerry McNerney
  • Marco Antonio Gutierrez
  • Marla Livengood
  • Mike Tsarnas – qualified


Congressional District 11:

  • Mark DeSaulnier – qualified
  • Chris Wood Alva – qualified
  • Dennis Lytton – qualified
  • John Charles Fitzgerald – qualified


Congressional District 15

  • Eric Swalwell
  • Brendan St. John
  • William Sefton


Assembly District 11

  • Jim Frazier – qualified
  • Brian Lax, Jr.
  • Lisa Romero
  • Diane Stewart


Assembly District 14

  • Tim Grayson – qualified
  • Aasim Yahya


Assembly District 15

  • Rochelle Rhiana Pardue-Okimoto
  • Cheryl Sudduth
  • Buffy Wicks
  • Pranav Jandhyala
  • Owen Poindexter
  • Jovanka Doreen Beckles
  • Ben Barlett
  • Raquella Thaman
  • Dan Kalb
  • Judy Appel


Assembly District 16

  • Catharine Baker – qualified
  • Rebecca Beth Bauer-Kahan
  • Thomas Robert Tarantino

For more information on candidates who have pulled papers and filed, click here.