Home California Resolution Honoring Fallen CHP Officer with Freeway Naming Chaptered by Secretary of State

Resolution Honoring Fallen CHP Officer with Freeway Naming Chaptered by Secretary of State

by ECT

Portion of I-505 Named in Honor of CHP Officer Struck During traffic Stop

SACRAMENTO – Earlier this summer, Secretary of State Alex Padilla, chaptered ACR 4 by Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D-Discovery Bay) that would name a portion of Interstate 505 in Vacaville in memory of CHP Officer Kirk Anthony Griess who was killed while on duty exactly one year ago this Saturday, August 10th.

Assembly Concurrent Resolution 4 (ACR4) designates I-505 between the Interstate 80 interchange and Vaca Valley Parkway the “CHP Officer Kirk Griess Memorial Highway.” The measure was unanimously supported in both the Assembly and the Senate.

“Officer Griess was a respected and beloved CHP officer and community member who had served the Solano County community for nineteen years,” said Frazier, who chairs the Assembly Transportation Committee. “Naming a highway for Officer Griess will not mitigate the pain and sense of loss his family and community continues to endure, but it will help ensure his service and sacrifice are not forgotten.”

“Officer Griess gave his life serving the people of California, and his loss was truly devastating to his family, the CHP family, and his community,” said CHP Commissioner Warren Stanley. “On behalf of the 11,000 women and men of the California Highway Patrol, I want to thank Assemblyman Frazier for his efforts to introduce ACR 4 and further ensure that Officer Griess’ service and sacrifice are always remembered by the people he so proudly served.”

Officer Griess is survived by his wife, Keri, and their three children: daughters, Kadi and Kaci and son, Kole. A Marine Corps veteran, Griess served with the Highway Patrol for 19 years. In compliance with state law, the signs designating the Officer Kirk Griess Memorial Highway must come from private donations.



Assemblymember Frazier represents the 11th Assembly District, which includes the communities of Antioch, Bethel Island, Birds Landing, Brentwood, Byron, Collinsville, Discovery Bay, Fairfield, Isleton, Knightsen, Locke, Oakley, Pittsburg (partial), Rio Vista, Suisun City, Travis AFB, Vacaville and Walnut Grove.

You may also like