June Election: Who Has Pulled Papers in Contra Costa County


The June 5, 2018 Primary Election is in full swing as the deadline to file nomination papers is Friday March 9.

If an incumbent elected official does not file to run for office by the March 9 deadline, there is a filing extension until 5:00 pm on Wednesday, March 14, 2018.

It appeared as if both Supervisors John Gioia and Karen Mitchoff for the second consecutive election would run unopposed, however, this week, Walnut Creek City Councilman Justin Wedel pulled papers to run against Mitchoff. It’s unclear if he will actually file.

Meanwhile, Contra Costa County Sheriff-Coroner David Livingston will likely run unopposed.

As of March 5, here is a look at who has pulled papers and filed in local races


Contra Costa County Superintendent of Schools

  • Lynn Mackey
  • Ron Leone
  • Cheryl Hansen
  • Linda Sue Delehunt


Contra Costa County Supervisor, District 1

  • John Gioia


Contra Costa County Supervisor, District 4

  • Karen Mitchoff
  • Justin Wedel


Contra Costa County Assessor

  • Gus Kramer
  • Geoffrey William Steele


Contra Costa County Auditor-Controller

  • Robert Campbell
  • Ayore Riaundayore Riaunda


Contra Costa County Clerk-Recorder

  • Joe Canciamilla
  • Nathan Scott Smith


Contra Costa County District Attorney-Public Administaror

  • Diana Becton
  • Lawrence Steven Strauss
  • Victor Segovia
  • Paul Graves


Contra Costa County Sheriff-Coroner

  • David Livingston


Contra Costa County Treasurer-Tax Collector

  • Russell Watts


State & Congressional

Congressional District 9:

  • Jerry McNerney
  • Marco Antonio Gutierrez


Congressional District 11:

  • Mark DeSaulnier
  • Chris Wood Alva
  • Dennis Lytton
  • John Charles Fitzgerald


Congressional District 15

  • Eric Swalwell
  • Brendan St. John
  • William Sefton


Assembly District 11

  • Jim Frazier
  • Brian Lax, Jr.
  • Lisa Romero


Assembly District 14

  • Tim Grayson
  • Aasim Yahya


Assembly District 15

  • Rochelle Rhiana Pardue-Okimoto
  • Cheryl Sudduth
  • Buffy Wicks
  • Pranav Jandhyala
  • Owen Poindexter
  • Jovanka Doreen Beckles


Assembly District 16

  • Catharine Baker
  • Rebecca Beth Bauer-Kahan
  • Thomas Robert Tarantino

For more information on candidates who have pulled papers and filed, click here.