Home Election 2014 CA Democratic Party State Official Throws Support Behind DeSaulnier Congressional Bid

CA Democratic Party State Official Throws Support Behind DeSaulnier Congressional Bid

by ECT

Mark DeSaulnier

CONCORD, CA— Strengthening his bid to succeed Rep. George Miller in California’s 11th Congressional district seat, today Senator Mark DeSaulnier garnered a high-profile California Democratic Party (CDP) endorsement from the Party’s Vice-Chair, Alex Rooker.

“I’m very sad to see Mark DeSaulnier leave the State Capitol, but I am absolutely ecstatic about his decision to run for Congress,” said CDP Vice-Chair Rooker. “Mark has been an outstanding advocate for working people and disadvantaged folks. With our nation’s growing inequality gap, I know he’ll fight hard for economic and social justice in Washington, so that everyday Americans will have a shot at a better life. I’m thrilled to support Mark for California’s 11th Congressional district seat.”

“Alex Rooker has been an enormous force in the California Democratic Party for years, and I’m honored to have her support,” said Senator DeSaulnier. “Her endorsement sends a strong signal about my progressive track record and my ability to get things done in the State legislature. I really appreciate Alex’s support.”

Since announcing his campaign roughly two weeks ago, DeSaulnier has received a bevy of important endorsements from local, state, and federal elected leaders. Beyond today’s announcement, to date, DeSaulnier has received support from the following list of leaders:

  • Congresswoman Ellen Tauscher (Ret.)
  • Congressman Alan Lowenthal
  • Congressman Jared Huffman
  • Congresswoman Janice Hahn
  • Congresswoman Julia Brownley
  • State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson
  • California Treasurer Bill Lockyer
  • California Insurance Commissioner Dave Jones
  • California Assembly Speaker John Pérez
  • State Senator Holly Mitchell
  • State Senator Richard Roth, major general USAF (Ret.)
  •  State Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg
  •  State Senator Kevin de León
  • State Senator Noreen Evans
  • State Senator Fran Pavley
  • State Senator Jerry Hill
  • State Senator Bill Monning
  • State Senator Loni Hancock
  • State Senator Lois Wolk
  •  State Senator Ellen Corbett
  • State Senator Hannah-Beth Jackson
  • State Senator Mark Leno
  • State Senator Ricardo Lara
  • State Senator Marty Block
  • State Senator Carol Liu
  • State Senator Alex Padilla
  • State Senator Jim Beall
  • State Assembly member Susan Bonilla
  • State Assembly member Joan Buchanan
  • State Assembly member Jim Frazier
  •  State Assembly member Robert Campbell (Ret.)
  • Contra Costa County Supervisor Federal Glover
  • Contra Costa County Supervisor John Gioia
  • County Superintendent of Schools, Joseph A. Ovick, Ed.D.*
  • Contra Costa Water District Director Bette Boatman*
  • East Bay Municipal Utility Director John A. Coleman*
  • Concord City Council member Edi E. Birsan
  • Concord City Council member Daniel C. Helix
  • Concord City Council member Ron Leone
  • Antioch Mayor Wade Harper
  • Antioch Mayor Pro Tem Mary Helen Rocha
  • Antioch Mayor Donald P. Freitas (Ret.)
  • Antioch City Council member Monica Wilson
  • Antioch City Council member Tony Tiscareno
  • Antioch Unified School District Board of Trustees Member Diane Gibson-Gray
  • Orinda City Council member Amy Worth
  • Orinda City Council member Victoria Smith
  • Orinda City Council member Dean Orr
  • Richmond Mayor Jim McMillan (Ret.)
  • Richmond Mayor Irma Anderson (Ret.)
  • Richmond City Council member Nathaniel Bates
  • Richmond City Council member Tom Butt
  • Richmond City Council member Dr. Jeffrey Ritterman  (Ret.)
  • Richmond City Council member (Ret.) & West Contra County School Board (Ret.) Tony Thurmond
  • Pleasant Hill Vice-Mayor Ken Carlson
  •  Pleasant Hill City Council member David Durant
  • Pleasant Hill City Council member Michael G. Harris
  • Clayton Mayor Hank Stratford
  • Clayton City Council member & Former Mayor Julie Pierce
  • El Cerrito Mayor Janet Abelson
  • El Cerrito City Council member Mark Friedman
  • El Cerrito City Council member Jan Bridges
  • Walnut Creek Mayor Emeritus Gwen Regalia
  • Danville Mayor Robert Storer
  • Danville City Council member & former Mayor Newell Arnerich
  • Dublin Mayor Tim Sbranti
  • Martinez Mayor Rob Schroder
  • Pittsburg Mayor Salvatore Evola

Currently, DeSaulnier represents California’s 7th State Senate district, which covers 70% of California’s 11th Congressional district. Previously DeSaulnier served Contra Costa County as a State Assemblyman, County Supervisor, and City Councilman.


You may also like


Erin Jan 28, 2014 - 1:29 pm

I would be interested to see just how many (if any) Republicans or Independent’s endorse Desaulnier …….or is this just a democratic “support thy neighbor”–“hopey changey” kinda thing.

Is anyone surprised that all the usual Dems got behind one of their own? It’s nothing more than a chess game with the public being played as a pawn once again. All of these bozos know that if they endorse mark and he wins, they in turn will get a future endorsement from Mark the Congressman, in the next election cycle. When are we going to get smart and break the cycle? We all know they are not endorsing mark due to his astute political work.

Let’s hope someone else gives us a choice on the ballot!! A good contest would leave Mark, defeated since most voters (even dems) can’t stand the guy. Looking into his past, he has never had to fight a fierce campaign and has always had a walk on. This is history repeating itself all over again.

Let’s not forget the “Royal –cking” that Marky Mark did to contra costa whenst he sat on the board of sups. We are still paying for that and will continue to do so for years and years to come.

ECVsBrother Jan 28, 2014 - 6:46 pm

Why should there be a vote? Look at all the politicians scratching each others back. Makes a person want to puke. Anyone on the list above should be voted out. Erin is spot on !

Comments are closed.