Home Antioch Papenhausen, Oreta, Curran, Mallet Win Antioch Speedway Features

Papenhausen, Oreta, Curran, Mallet Win Antioch Speedway Features

by ECT

Antioch, CA — Richard Papenhausen won the 20 lap DIRTcar Late Model Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. This was the fifth win of the season for the current point leader.

Point leader Richard Papenhausen #4p won his fifth DIRTcar Late Model Main Event. Photo by Paul Gould

Kimo Oreta had the pole for the race and charged into the lead from the green flag ahead of past Santa Maria Speedway champion Rick Coffey.

Fourth row starter Papenhausen was up to third on lap three and gained second from Coffey on a lap five restart. Papenhausen began to pressure Oreta for the lead, but he would spin to avoid contact in Turn 4 for of the eighth lap.

Papenhausen got going without a yellow flag, and Oreta had a big lead on Coffey. As they came across to complete the 12th lap, however, Oreta suffered a mechanical failure and coasted down the front straightaway.

This put Coffey into the lead over Papenhausen. However, Papenhausen charged into lead on the restart, and Coffey surrendered second to David Newquist on a lap 17 restart. As Papenhausen brought it home to victory, Coffey made an inside pass on the backstretch on the final lap to take second from Newquist. Newquist settled for third, followed by Dennis Souza and Rod Oliver.

Kimo Oreta #15 won his fourth Limited late Model Main Event. Photo by Paul Gould

Kimo Oreta had better luck in the All Star Racing Series Limited Late Model 20 lap Main Event. He would pick up his fourth win of the season to keep the pressure on point leader Jim Freethy in a close championship battle. Both drivers won their respective heat races. Oreta sped into the lead from the waving of the green flag. Freethy challenged Oreta during the early stages of the race, but Oreta pulled away just a bit by the time the checkered flag waved. Freethy was a comfortable second, and Chad Hammer made a late move around Michael Burch to finish third. Gustafson also got by for fourth as Burch settled for fifth.

Brent Curran #132 won his division leading sixth B Modified Main Event. Photo by Paul Gould

Brent Curran won the 20 lap B Modified Main Event. This was his sixth win of the season as he keeps things close with Tommy Fraser in the point race. Les Friend led the opening lap before spinning in Turn 4 in front of Kevin Brown. Friend kept it going without need for a yellow flag as Curran took the lead. Brown was running second and was soon joined by tenth starter Fraser in what would be the closest battle of the race. As Curran pulled away a little bit, Fraser kept the pressure on Brown until making an inside pass on the backstretch of the 12th lap to take over second. The only yellow flag waved for a crash in Turn 4 of the 16th lap. Curran led the restart with Brown regaining second. Fraser made a bold inside move in Turn 1 of the 19th lap to regain second, but there was no way he could catch the flying Curran. Curran won ahead of Fraser, Brown, Cameron Swank and Friend.

Fifteen year old Jacob Mallet Jr won his first career 20 lap Hobby Stock Main Event. With Alfred Johnson electing to start at the back, Mallett inherited a pole position start and raced into the lead at the waving of the green flag. Jeff Betancourt held second until an inside pass on the backstretch of the seventh lap gained Will Buirch the position. Buirch held second until spinning in Turn 4 on lap 15, moving Breanna Troen and point leader Chris Sorensen into second and third. A lap 17 yellow flag meant Mallett had to defend his lead on one more restart. Sorensen moved into second and provided the pressure, but Mallett kept his cool and scored a well-earned victory. Troen finished third, followed by Ken Johns and Betancourt.

Gene Haney won the Bay Area Hardtop Main Event.

All Star Racing Series action continues next Saturday night with a program that will feature both the Winged 360 Sprint Cars and Wingless Spec Sprints. Also competing will be the A Modifieds, B Modifieds, Limited Late Models and Dwarf Cars. For further information, go to www.antiochspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results All Star Series Antioch Speedway

Late Models
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Richard Papenhausen, Rod Oliver. Main Event (20 laps)-Richard Papenhausen, Rick Coffey, David Newquist, Dennis Souza, Rod Oliver, Mike Hynes, Kimo Oreta, Rob Norris.

B Modifieds
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Brent Curran, Trevor Clymens. Main Event (20 laps)-Brent Curran, Tommy Fraser, Kevin Brown, Cameron Swank, Les Friend, Trevor Clymens, Tommy Clymens Jr, Mark Garner, Jason Womack, Dennis Gilcrease.

Limited Late Models
Heat Winners (8 laps)-Jim Freethy, Kimo Oreta. Main Event (20 laps)-Kimo Oreta, Jim Freethy, Chad Hammer, Mike Gustafson, Michael Burch, John Evans, Jon Haney, Chris Long DNS.

Hobby Stocks
Heat winners (8 laps)-Josh Leach, Chris Sorensen. Main Event (20 laps)- Jacob Mallett Jr, Chris Sorensen, Brianna Troen, Ken Johns, Jeff Betancourt, Lori Brown, Will Buirch, Madison Motts, Josh Leach, Alfred Johnson.

You may also like