Home Events Oct. 4: Pittsbug Entertainment and Arts Hall of Fame to Induct 18

Oct. 4: Pittsbug Entertainment and Arts Hall of Fame to Induct 18

by ECT

Eighteen of Pittsburg’s cultural icons make up the second induction class of the Pittsburg Entertainment & Arts Hall of Fame. The Induction Ceremony is scheduled Sunday, Oct. 4 at 2 p.m. at the Creative Arts Building on the Pittsburg High School campus.

Inductees include a pair of internationally acclaimed artists. Pittsburg native James Barbagallo, a noted classical pianist, earned the bronze medal at the 1982 Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition in Moscow, and Johnny Steele, a Pittsburg High School graduate, won the San Francisco International Comedy Competition in 1992.

Also scheduled for induction are popular Bay Area jazz singer Faye Carol, gospel singer Barbara Jean Davis, versatile singer/crooners Nicky DePaola and Jesse DeTorres, accordion player Lou DiMaggio, California Theatre organist Tony Enea, jazz saxophonist Raymond Glasper, big-band singer Bob Grabeau, bassist-guitarist John Guerrero, versatile musician Delfo Lanzafame, gospel singer Ronald Lawson, singer-poet Guillermo Muniz, the Bay Area’s ‘Queen of Gospel’ Dorothy Stanton, founder of Pittsburg’s first Latin big band Felix Urbina, drummer Leo Vigil and bluesman Sam Wesley Sr.

“We are pleased to welcome this talented group into the Hall of Fame. They represent the diversity of the arts that makes Pittsburg so unique,” said PEAHOF President Ralph Ramirez, who was a member of Urbina’s band.

Tickets for the Induction Ceremony are $10 general and $20 reserved. Tickets can be purchased from the PEAHOF website at www.pittsburgentertainmentandarts.org or at the door.

Following the Induction Ceremony, a PEAHOF All-Star Band will perform, inviting the new Inductees to join them.

A limited number of tickets for the Induction After Party to be catered by the New Mecca Café are available for $20 only at the PEAHOF website.

You may also like