Home Antioch Teves Wins Dwarf Car Nationals At Antioch Speedway, Endicott, Reeder, Brown, Corn Other Winners

Teves Wins Dwarf Car Nationals At Antioch Speedway, Endicott, Reeder, Brown, Corn Other Winners

By Candice Martin

by ECT

Antioch, CA — Adam Teves won the 30 lap Pro Dwarf Car Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. This was the second night of the WSDCA Dwarf Car Nationals, hosted by the Delta Dwarf Car Association. It was also the biggest win of Adam’s career. He raced at Antioch in Dwarf Cars and Wingless Spec Sprints prior to moving to Nevada

Southern California Dwarf Car star Tommy Velasquez III led a lap before Michael Tobiason took over. Delta Dwarf Car point leader Danny Wagner took second on a Lap 5 restart, but Velasquez came back strong with an inside pass in Turn 4 on Lap 7. The tenacious Wagner went high in Turn 2 on Lap 11 to regain second. A high move in Turn 2 of the 14th lap put Wagner into the lead as Teves gained third. Teves settled into second on Lap 17 and made an inside pass in Turn 2 on Lap 22 to grab the lead from Wagner. Teves set a rapid pace and brought it home to the satisfying win, followed by Wagner, Tobiason, Velasquez and Dylan Shrum.

Dan Brown Jr #15 was declared the winner of a photo finish in the Limited Late Model Main Event. Photo by Katrina Kniss

Dan Brown Jr won the Xtreme Scaffolding Limited Late Model Main Event. Previous winner Dan Jinkerson set the early pace ahead of Matt Micheli and Brown. By the 10th lap, Jinkerson held a straightaway advantage over Micheli, and a low pass in Turn 4 of the 12th lap put Brown into second. Anthony Slaney moved into third on Lap 14 before a yellow flag waved for debris on the track. On the restart, Brown began to pressure Jinkerson.

The final few laps were intense. Exiting the final turn, Brown made it a side-by-side battle with Jinkerson to the line. Jinkerson appeared to beat Brown by inches. However, placement of the timing devices in the two cars indicated that Brown finished ahead of Jinkerson. Anthony Slaney was a close third, followed by Josh Combs and Micheli.

Garrett Corn #c29 won his second-straight IMCA Stock Car Main Event. Photo by Katrina Kniss

Merced Speedway star Garrett Corn won his second-straight 20 lap IMCA Stock Car Main Event. When Fred Ryland drew the pole in the redraw, it was assumed that he would charge into the lead. However, Susanville star Craig Nieman led a lap before a low pass in Turn 4 gained Corn the lead. Ryland surrendered third to Steven Johnson on Lap 7 as Corn led the way. Scott Foster spun in Turn 4 for a Lap 8 yellow flag. Corn continued to lead Nieman on the restart, but Johnson took second on the 10th circuit. The tenacious Nieman regained the runner-up spot on Lap 14, but he was unable to mount a challenge on Corn, who scored the victory. Ryland made a late move around Johnson for third as point leader Travis Dutra ended up fifth.

Kinser Endicott picked up the win in the 20 lap Sportsman Dwarf Car Main Event. Cody Shrum took the early lead ahead of Endicott and Isaak Geil. They ran that way until contact in Turn 2 saw Endicott take the lead from Shrum on Lap 11. Justin Bingman rolled in Turn 4 for a Lap 12 red flag. Endicott led the restart ahead of Brenden Shrum and Friday night winner Joey Bohard. They would finish that way at the checkered flag as Geil settled for fourth ahead of Teagan Fischer.

National Veteran Dwarf Car point leader Mike Reeder backed up his Friday night win with a victory in the time-limit shortened 10 lap Veteran Dwarf Car Main Event. Reeder led from the outset ahead of Mark Biscardi and Ronnie Williams. A yellow flag  waved on Lap 3 for David Rosa, and Reeder led Williams and Biscardi on the restart. Biscardi gained second on a Lap 5 restart, but a yellow flag waved on Lap 10 for Scotty Preast and Kevin Miraglio in Turn 3. After a crash botched the first restart attempt, Reeder led Biscardi and Williams on the next restart, only to have Stacy Woods crash in Turn 2 to end the race at that point. Glenn Sciarani and David Rosa rounded out the Top 5 at the finish.

Racing resumes next Saturday night with the IMCA Modifieds back in action along with the IMCA Sport Modifieds, Wingless Spec Sprints, Pacific Coast General Engineering Hobby Stocks and Mini Stocks.

For further information, go to www.antochspeedway.com.


Unofficial Race Results  Antioch Speedway July 16th

WSDCA Dwarf Car Nationals Night 2

Pro Dwarf Cars

Fast Dash (10 laps)-Tommy Velasquez III. Heat Winners (8 laps)-Nick Velasquez, David Michael Rosa. Main Event (30 laps)-Adam Teves, Danny Wagner, Michael Tobiason, Tommy Velazquez III, Dylan Shrum, Devan Kammeramann, Dennis Liebig, Shawn Whitney, Vuki Wilson Jr, Chris Kress.


Veteran Dwarf Cars

Fast Dash (10 laps)-Mike Reeder. Heat Winners (8 laps)-Kevin Miraglio, Dan Zuger. Main Event (10 laps)-Mike Reeder, Mark Biscardi, Ronnie Williams, Glenn Sciarani, David Rosa, Dan Geil, Scotty Preast, Mario Marques, Eric Weisler, Tommy Velasquez II.


Sportsman Dwarf Cars

Fast Dash (10 laps)-Kinser Endicott. Heat Winner (8 laps)-Travis Gergel. Main Event (20 laps)-Kinser Endicott, Brenden Shrum, Joey Bohard, Isaak Geil, Teagan Fischer, Cody Shrum, Dan Varner, Kylee Johnson, Travis Gergel, Ian Velasquez.


Xtreme Limited Late Models

Heat Winners (8 laps)-Dan Brown Jr, Matt Micheli. Main Event (20 laps)-Dan Brown Jr, Dan Jinkerson, Anthony Slaney, Josh Combs, Matt Micheli, Rod Oliver, Jason Ryan Jr, Fred Ryland DNS, Ray Trimble DNS.


IMCA Stock Cars

Heat Winners (8 laps)-Jason Robles, Anthony Giuliani. Main Event (20 laps)-Garrett Corn, Craig Nieman, Fred Ryland, Steven Johnson, Travis Dutra, Jason Robles, Jason Jennings, Dan Gonderman, Dave Hill, Jeff Bentancourt.


You may also like

Leave a Comment