Home Antioch Ryland Scores Milestone Win at Antioch Speedway, DeCarlo, Foulger, Kammermann Other Winners

Ryland Scores Milestone Win at Antioch Speedway, DeCarlo, Foulger, Kammermann Other Winners

Don Martin II

by ECT

Antioch, CA — Point leader Fred Ryland won the 20 lap IMCA Sport Modified Main Event Saturday night at Antioch Speedway. This was the fourth win of the season for Ryland. The win gives him 70 total career wins at Antioch Speedway and puts him fourth all time as he maintains the Sport Modified point lead in a close battle with Andrew Pearce.

Joseph Pato led a lap before spinning in Turn 3 for a yellow flag. This put Matt Pitts into the lead on the restart, and he led a lap before Nick Zapatero made a Turn 2 pass for the lead. Pearce quickly moved into second and started challenging Zapatero. When Zapatero got too high exiting Turn 2 on Lap 8, Pearce raced by for the lead. Kenny Shrader and Ryland were quickly into second and third. Ryland moved into second on a Lap 12 restart, and he started challenging Pearce during the latter stages of the race. When Pearce bobbled ever so slightly in Turn 4 on Lap 17, Ryland went high and took the lead. Ryland pulled away from there to win with Pearce settling for second ahead of Shrader, KC Keller and Tommy Fraser.

Nick DeCarlo rebounded in a big way by winning his third 20 lap IMCA Modified Main Event. After back to back bad nights, DeCarlo had fallen to third in the standings going into the night, but he exited the evening as the point leader once again.

After a complete restart, Nick DeCarlo led his father Terry DeCarlo Sr when the racing began. A low pass in Turn 2 gained Troy Foulger second on Lap 5, but Nick DeCarlo held a straightaway advantage by then. Incoming point leader Kellen Chadwick slipped past Foulger for second on Lap 11, but Chadwick and Jeff Browne tangled on the frontstretch for a Lap 13 yellow flag. Foulger was penalized to the rear for his part in the incident, and Nick DeCarlo led Trevor Clymens on the restart. Clymens broke a driveline on Lap 18 for a yellow flag with Aaron Crowell moving into second on the restart. As Nick DeCarlo pulled away to a comfortable margin of victory, a low pass in Turn 2 on the final lap put Foulger into second. Crowell settled for third ahead of Buddy Kniss and Brent Curran.

Troy Foulger won the 20 lap IMCA Stock Car Main Event. This was the second win of the season for Foulger in this division. Andrew Pearce took the early lead ahead of Joe Gallaher, and a yellow flag waved on Lap 2 for a Dave Hill spin in Turn 3. That was the final slowdown of the race, and Foulger bolted into second behind Pearce on the restart. Gallaher was holding on to third, but he surrendered the spot to a low pass in Turn 4 by point leader Travis Dutra on lap 4. Foulger was pressuring Pearce for the lead before making a low pass in Turn 3 on Lap 7 to take over. Foulger built a straightaway advantage as Pearce had his hands full with Dutra. As Foulger took the win, Dutra made a last lap pass on Pearce for second. Dan Gonderman and Fred Ryland completed the Top 5.

Devan Kammermann won his second-straight Delta Dwarf Car Main Event. Kammermann took the early lead ahead of Chance Russell, but Kammermann was getting sideways exiting Turn 3. On the second lap, Kammermann got a little too sideways and Russell got by for the lead as Sean Catucci and Danny Wagner battled fiercely for third. Russell started to pull away from Kammermann as the race hit the midway point, but Kammermann started to gather his composure. They hit traffic on Lap 13 and Kammermann attempted an inside pass. Russell held him off, but Kammermann went low in Turn 2 on Lap 14 to get the lead.

Bennett Gooch III brought out a yellow flag on Lap 14. On the restart, Wagner bolted into second. However, Kammermann kept his cool down the stretch and scored the win. Russell ended up third, followed by Ellie Russo and Catucci.

Racing resumes next weekend with the Sonny Calkins Memorial race. The Wingless Spec Sprints will pay $2,500 to win and $200 minimum to start. The WMR Midgets will be there along with the Pacific Coast General Engineering Hobby Stocks and Mini Stocks. For further information, go to www.antiochspeedway.com.

Unofficial Race Results Antioch Speedway

IMCA Modifieds

Heat Winners (8 laps)-Nick DeCarlo, Kellen Chadwick. Main Event (20 laps)-Nick DeCarlo, Troy Foulger, Aaron Crowell, Buddy Kniss, Brent Curran,  Kellen Chadwick, Bobby Motts Jr, Terry DeCarlo Jr, Jeff Browne, Kenny Robles.


IMCA Sport Modifieds

Heat Winners (8 laps)-Dylan Connelly, Nick DeCarlo, Andrew Pearce. Main Event (20 laps)-Fred Ryland, Andrew Pearce, Kenny Shrader, KC Keller, Tommy Fraser, Mark Garner, Jacob Mallet, Tyler Browne, Jason Ryan Jr, Kevin Brown.


IMCA Stock Cars

Heat Winners (8 laps)-Troy Foulger, Dave Hill. Main Event (20 laps)-Troy Foulger, Travis Dutra, Andrew Pearce, Dan Gonderman, Fred Ryland, Joe Gallaher, Jason Robles, Jason Jennings, Les Friend, Dave Hill.


Delta Dwarf Cars

Heat Winner (8 laps)-Sean Catucci. Main Event (20 laps)-Devan Kammermann, Danny Wagner, Chance Russell, Ellie Russo, Sean Catucci, Joe LeDuc, Bennett Gooch III.

You may also like

Leave a Comment